On Commercials

I’m watching Bob’s Burgers on Hulu and there’s a KFC commercial during the breaks that pisses me off. It’s the same theme for junk food that generally pisses me off when they air.

“My kids won’t eat, so I get them junk so they will.” It’s giant pile of bull that makes me so incredibly angry I don’t know what to do with myself.

Kids will eat healthy foods if you model eating healthy foods for them. From the time that my daughter began eating solid foods, we’ve done a very good job of eating healthy foods with her. That’s not to say that we haven’t had the occasional trip to McDonald’s or some other fast food joint, but those trips aren’t the norm. She loves foods like avocado and bananas as well as various meats. She’s actually a fan of some of the more spicy foods.

We have always given her food from our plate instead of making her eat prepared baby foods. She has never eaten pureed foods (apple sauce not withstanding) or foods with added sugar.

In my humble opinion, providing your child with a variety of foods as they first begin eating will help that child be more open to new foods as they grow up.

Of course, this whole entry could come back and bite me in the ass when she decides at six years old she won’t eat anything but sugar coated sugar bombs with sugar milk.

About Micah Brown

A writer, photographer, husband and animal lover with a day job in Technology. I live with my wife, daughter, stepson, four cats, three dogs, two sheep, seven hens, two rabbits, a king snake, a crested gecko, and an albino corn snake in the wilds of Maine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

